Interesting stories behind Singapore's oldest hotels
There are some pretty interesting facts you probably never knew about Singapore's heritage hotels
A hotel is more than a place to rest your head. Each property has its own story, especially if they're amongst the world's historical hotels. In Singapore, our grande dames are mostly built during the pre-war era, and have been standing way before Singapore gained independence. In fact, our oldest hotel turns 133 this year. And with each historical building comes decades of stories and anecdotes that have graced their hallways. From Bengal tigers running loose to being one of Singapore's first fortresses, there are some pretty interesting facts you probably never knew about Singapore's oldest hotels.
Built in 1887
From being home to the world-famous Singapore Sling to a tiger hunt and an illustrious roster of guests including authors Joseph Conrad and Rudyard Kipling, Raffles Singapore is full of stories. The grande dame is celebrating its 133rd birthday this year – and no one knows the history of the hotel better than resident historian Leslie Danker, who has been with Raffles Singapore for 48 years. Mr Danker has just published his book A Life Intertwined, which unveils a collection of anecdotes and personal recounts of history since he first stepped foot in the hotel at 18 years old.
The hotel was established by Armenian hoteliers the Sarkies Brothers in 1887, proprietors of the Eastern & Oriental in Penang, and named after Singapore's founder Sir Stamford Raffles. What started as a 10-key accommodation housed in an old bungalow at the corner of Beach and Bras Basah Roads expanded over the years. Its Main Building – fronted by the now-iconic neo-Renaissance architecture – was completed and opened on November 18 1899, marking the beginning of the hotel's heyday. Raffles Singapore soon welcomed illustrious guests from all over the world including W. Somerset Maugham, Elizabeth Taylor, Rudyard Kipling, Charlie Chaplin and Michael Jackson, who celebrated his 35th birthday at the hotel.
Interesting fact Perhaps Raffles Singapore's most famous visitor is a Bengal tiger which found its way into the hotel's Bar & Billiard Room. It is known to be the place where the last tiger in Singapore was shot. This happened in 1902, when a tiger escaped from a performing circus at the far end of Beach Road. The 2.3-metre long feline cowered in the space underneath the Bar & Billiard Room, which was then used as a storage for empty boxes and crates. A staff member at the hotel saw the tiger and alerted a headmaster, who was known to be a hunter and a sharp shooter.
"Mr Charles McGowan Philips, principal of the neighbouring Raffles Institution, was roused from his bed by the hotel staff," Mr Danker wrote in A Life Intertwined. "Clad in pyjamas and armed with his Lee-Enfield rifle, he stalked the tiger, which was hiding under the elevated floor of the bar. The first three shots missed, but the fourth found its mark."
THE FULLERTON HOTEL SINGAPORE
Built in 1928
A majestic grey Aberdeen granite structure characterised by its Doric columns watches over the Singapore River. That's Singapore's 71st national monument, once home to three of the most important institutions of Singapore: The General Post Office, The Singapore Club and the Chamber of Commerce.
"The building is, and will be for many years, one of the principal landmarks of Singapore," said then-governor of the Straits Settlements Sir Hugh Clifford when he opened the building in June 1928. And man, was he right.
Since then, the building has witnessed Singapore's modern history unfold, even acting as the last bastion of Singapore’s Governor Sir Shenton Thomas as the Japanese army marched into Singapore in 1942. Allied soldiers took refuge in its spacious corridors. The building also served as a backdrop for pivotal political rallies during the post-World War II battle for Singapore's Independence from the British.
Interesting fact In 1829, a fortress was built at the entrance of the Singapore River, where The Fullerton Hotel now sits. It was one of the earliest forts to be built in Singapore, predating even Fort Siloso. Fort Fullerton commanded high views over the Singapore River on the Singapore River on the North and the harbour to the South, a prime spot to defend the settlement against naval attacks.
GOODWOOD PARK HOTEL
Built in 1900
Nestled amongst landscaped gardens on Scotts Road is a prominent colonial-era building. The Goodwood Park Hotel may be a household name in Singapore now, especially famed for its durian pastries, but its beginnings were far from local. It was built as the Teutonia Club in 1900, then an elite enclave for the expatriate German community in Singapore. Three Jewish brothers – Morris, Ezekiel, and Ellis Manasseh – bought over the building in 1918 and renamed it as Goodwood Hall after the famous Goodwood Racecourse in England.
By 1929, as more businessmen travelled from Malaya, it was converted into the Goodwood Park Hotel. The hotel soon became one of the best-known hotels at the end of the 1930s, welcoming esteemed guests from around the world including the Duke of Windsor and the Prince of Wales of England.
Interesting fact When World War II reached Singapore's shores in 1941, the hotel was converted into a residence for high-ranking Japanese soldiers during the three-year occupation of Singapore. The hotel then served as a British War Crimes Court before it was returned to Mr Vivian Bath, a Manasseh descendant, in 1947.
Source : Time out Singapore